His Name

10 Feb

I often hear from women who have been newly diagnosed with breast cancer. These women are scattered all over the nation. They come from a wide variety of backgrounds. Yet, they all ask me the very same question — How did I survive?

These women are not asking how I survived in a medical sense. What they want to know is how I survived the day of my diagnosis without giving up hope. They want to know how I could face a regimen of grueling treatments and yet hold onto a sense of peace. They want to know how I could fight a potentially fatal disease and still have faith for the future.

Because to a newly diagnosed person, these things seem impossible. And the truth is – they are. But all things are possible with God.

Awhile back, I received an email from a desperately hurting woman. She had lost her job, her hair, her husband, and her home — all because of breast cancer. She wrote to tell me that she had just finished reading my book. And that she now hoped to find something far more important than everything she had lost.

“I realize now that if I’m going to survive, I need God in my life,” she told me. “I just need God.”

We don’t have to be diagnosed with cancer or facing some other crisis before turning to God. Whether we realize it yet or not, we need God in our everyday lives. We really do. We need His hope, His peace, His grace. No one can ever love us like He does. It’s okay, go ahead and turn to Him now.

He has been waiting all of your life to hear you call His name.

 

 

4 Responses to “His Name”

  1. Brenda Doerksen February 10, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    This is so true. We really do need God at all times. It is hard to trust Him sometimes when we have something going wrong in our body. The fact is He knows all about it before we do or any Doctor makes a diagnosis.

    God loves us so much & wants us to turn to Him & let Him carry us through difficult times.

    GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME!!!! (even when things don’t make sense & we don’t understand why they are happening to us). God truly wants to be in complete control of our lives if we allow Him to be.

    Thank you, Jesus for wanting to have this close, personal relationship with me!!!!! You are such a great God!!!

  2. Becky February 12, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    You always have such a gentle, beautiful way of saying things, Jill.

  3. Kim Forseth February 13, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Jill- This is wonderfully put. I was not diagnosed with breast cancer, but was diagnosed with MS- from what I have read in your blog- regardless of the diagnosis we as women offer similar responses. ” My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness…” Thanks for sharing and reaching out with God’s love and the power of the Holy Spirit. You are impressive!

  4. Shannon February 21, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Jill, you are AWESOME! Thank you for your beautiful words of encouragement.

    -Shannon

Leave a Reply

