Healing Dawn

28 Oct

This morning as my kids were heading off to school in the early morning darkness, my daughter suddenly remembered that she absolutely had to have a sheet of poster board for Language Arts class today. I quickly checked our poster board supply. Nada. Sensing an oncoming panic attack in this conscientious, academically-oriented child who has never before forgotten an educational supply, I assured her that I would take care of it and sent her on her way.

There wasn’t much time if I was going to get a poster board to her before her Language Arts class started. So I did what mothers do — I threw on some old sweats and made a mad dash to Wal-Mart. As I approached the school supply aisle, it occurred to me that I hadn’t brushed my hair yet. I hadn’t even brushed my teeth.

Determined to complete my mission, I grabbed a poster board, paid for it, and hurried to my daughter’s school. Just moments before class started, I rushed into the front office with the poster board, and the secretary sent a student runner to deliver it to my daughter. Whew. Mission accomplished.

In hindsight, I probably should have gotten out of there while I still had the chance…

But, as I stood in the front office catching my breath for a moment, I remembered that I had planned to call the school today to check on some paperwork that needed attention. I figured that as long as I was standing in the front office, I might as well save myself a phone call and just ask the secretary about it now. But to my surprise, the secretary informed me that the Dean of Students would have to check on that paperwork for me. And before I knew what was happening, she ushered me right into his office.

He greeted me warmly, offered me a cup of coffee, and kindly checked on the paperwork. And all the while, I smiled and tried to pretend that I hadn’t just gotten out of bed. At least I wasn’t wearing my red flannel scottie-dog pants.

As I drove back home awhile later, a pretty pink sunrise glowed along the horizon, and I was reminded of the healing mercies of a loving God. Because, for the first time in five years, I hadn’t been too sick to be gallivanting around so early in the morning. The mornings have been the worst. But not today. Today I had actually felt good enough to be sitting in the dean’s office with un-brushed teeth. And the way I see it, that is truly something for which to be thankful.

2 Responses to “Healing Dawn”

  1. Sandy October 28, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Very sweet!

  2. Becky October 28, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    I began smiling as I read further in to this and ended with a huge smile. What a lovely story and thank God for the sunrises!

Leave a Reply

