Breast Cancer Awareness Month

21 Oct

There’s a new breast care & oncology center in town. It’s a wonderful facility. I mean, it’s not Disneyland of course, but for a breast care center, it’s pretty awesome. I transferred my medical records to this new facility, and last month I went there for a checkup.

These checkups always make me incredibly nervous. But the staff at this impressive new center was competent and kind, and when it was all over, I was kicking myself for getting so stressed out about the whole thing. Stress can cause cancer, you know.

And honestly, I have to say that getting a breast exam at the breast care center is a much more pleasant experience than getting it at the airport.

Last week I went back to the breast care center again. This time I went because they had invited me to be the speaker for their breast cancer awareness event.

Such a lovely event. And what a warm and gracious group of ladies greeted me when I arrived. It was a privilege to share my story with them. They touched my heart in a way I will not soon forget.

October is breast cancer awareness month. The two biggest risks for getting breast cancer are 1) being a woman; and 2) getting older. So be sure you’re taking good care of yourself. And take good care of those you love.

Believe me, prevention is a whole lot easier than taking on a fight with cancer.

One Response to “Breast Cancer Awareness Month”

  1. Wagonwifedesigns October 23, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    Jill you had me laughing….the breast exam at the airport, not really funny but after what you went through it is the humor that helps you maintain. I ordered my cards from PS and they came the other day. Hope I never have that experience. Glad the breast care center is up and running. Wish it was not needed, but glad it is there.
    Debra

Leave a Reply

