Do Not Lose Heart

14 Oct

It wasn’t my birthday, but last week I sure got an awesome gift — A wonderfully relaxing week at West Palm Beach in Florida. Tropical breezes. Warm sunshine. Maid service. And not one lousy trip to Wal-Mart. I would not be surprised if they don’t even have Wal-Marts in Florida.

By the way, for those of you who were concerned, please be assured that this time I had no problem getting through airport security. No full body scans. No probing frontal exams. No scowling security guards. In fact, one of the guards even smiled at me. All in all, a much more pleasant experience. Must have been that pink t-shirt…

Not far from me, my husband spent the week sitting in a windowless room at the Florida-based Thermo Fischer training facility learning about gas chromatograph-mass spectrometers. (Don’t feel too sorry for him. He is fascinated by that stuff).

Meanwhile, I spent the days taking long walks along the white sandy beach, the warm ocean water embracing my ankles.

As I walked, I mainly thought of nothing. Can you imagine such luxury? No wondering about what to fix for dinner. No consulting a time schedule or to-do list. And absolutely no worrying about anything that starts with the letter C.

A time of rest and renewal. I welcomed it with open arms.

It reminded me of the verse in II Corinthians 4 that I’ve been hanging onto these past five years. “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.”

I love the part about being renewed day by day, don’t you?

The side effects of five long years of cancer treatment are fading away. I could feel renewal with each sandy step I took.

What a good and perfect gift from the Father of the heavenly lights.

5 Responses to “Do Not Lose Heart”

  1. Becky October 14, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    This just made me feel warm all over. I’m so glad you could do that.

  2. Barbara October 14, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Beautifully written!

  3. Kamela October 15, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    So happy you had a chance to relax!

  4. Debra October 16, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    The Renewal is a perfect gift!

  5. Edythe Stahnke October 30, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Oh, Dear Jill – How wonderful you had a trip to Florida! The warm, fresh air does wonders, doesn’t it?! I love reading and hearing about you and your experiences since the release of your excellent book, “Mammograms, Mastectomies and a Spiritual Makeover.” My love and best wishes, always – Edee

Leave a Reply

