A Pigeon Named Galileo

14 Sep

Just because I write a blog about life after breast cancer, doesn’t mean that I enjoy writing about breast cancer. Truth is, I don’t enjoy it at all. But I’ve found that once you’ve been diagnosed with cancer, it is really hard to go a day or even an hour or two without being aware of that fact. As much as I wish it would go away, it’s a part of who I am now, and it always seems to be hovering somewhere over my head, even when I try to pretend it’s not.

So sometimes I have to make a conscious effort to think about other things. Like pigeons, for example. That’s right. Sometimes I think about pigeons. And sometimes I even write about pigeons. Like in this article I wrote for an awesome new children’s e-zine (you know, an on-line magazine) called Imagination Café. The article’s title is “A Pigeon Named Galileo.”

It’s a true story about my friend Dan (who works at Northwest Nazarene University with my husband Dan) and his friend Galileo who is of course a pigeon and doesn’t work at all. And okay, so maybe Galileo is not my friend Dan’s best friend, but…  Are you following all this? Maybe it would be easier if you just check out the story for yourself. Here’s the link – www.imagination-cafe.com/doggy/creature/pigeon.asp

Oh, and be sure to bring some birdseed.

One Response to “A Pigeon Named Galileo”

  1. Jan McNaught September 14, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    I chuckled and chuckled as I read this, Jill. What a picture you painted for us. Love the story. It made me think of some advice I heard some time ago: whatever you do, don’t think about frogs. So if you ever want to think of something other than pigeons, or cancer, just tell yourself: don’t think about frogs. Your writing helps me everytime, Jill.
    Jan

Leave a Reply

