In Sickness and in Health

6 May

Last week my husband Dan and I attended a breast cancer survivor banquet hosted by Susan G. Komen for the Cure. It was called “The Power of Pink.” As you can likely imagine, pink was the dominate color at that banquet – pink carpet, pink balloons, pink table cloths – even the dress code was pink. That was all okay with me. Surprisingly, pink is still my favorite color.

The guest speaker for the event was Geralyn Lucas, author of Why I Wore Lipstick to My Mastectomy. Geralyn came all the way from New York to speak to us. I found it interesting to see her in person because when I was first diagnosed with breast cancer, I had read her book.

The highlight of the evening for me was when Geralyn asked the men to stand. I imagine a few of them felt a bit out-of-place at such a feminine event. Perhaps some felt self-conscious wearing their pink ties and pink shirts. But Geralyn insisted, and so throughout the huge room, they all stood up.

Not all men stand by their women through breast cancer. It’s a horrible journey. Even for the spouse. Especially for the spouse. But those who do stand by their women, are truly amazing. They, too, are survivors of the journey. And so last week, we recognized and honored these men, the ones who have faithfully stood by their women in sickness and in health.

2 Responses to “In Sickness and in Health”

  1. Julie May 6, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I was thinking today that I needed to check your blog again. I appreciate this new post. Our son, Ian, had a team mate whose mother fought breast cancer for a long time. Her first husband wasn’t there for her and even made fun of her when certain aspects of her illness struck him as funny, she told me, but her second husband made all the difference in the world. I used to see them walking slowly together across the Little League park since he would keep pace with her. He helped her host sleep-overs for her son and drove her to UCLA Medical Center for all her appointments. We lost touch after middle school and I remembered recently to ask Ian about her. She had died and the friend is back with his father, the first husband. I hope that he is better company for his son than he was for his son’s mother when she was sick.

  2. Janet May 9, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    Awesome to see your picture on the Idaho Press “Woman’s Magazine”. You are an inspiration to many; not only those with breast cancer. God is truly using you & your family. Supportive families are truly one of those blessings. You have an awesome family!

Leave a Reply

