I Love You

4 Apr

Three simple words. For some people, they just roll off the tongue. But for others, those words seem to get stuck somewhere back behind their tonsils.

When I was first diagnosed with cancer, many people did not know what to say. I don’t blame them at all. I had no idea what I wanted or needed them to say either. I mean, what can you say to someone who has just found out they have a potentially fatal disease? What words could we possibly offer to someone who has experienced the shock of a cancer diagnosis, or any disease for that matter? Or how about a divorce? A death?

I remember appreciating the people who came up to me and simply said things like “I don’t know what to say. I’m sorry to hear this is happening to you. I wish it would all go away.” And I would nod and whisper “me too.”

Then there were the people who wrapped their arms around me and said “I love you” over and over again until their words finally penetrated my pain with their comforting presence. I appreciated them too.

The words “I love you” cannot cure cancer.

But those powerful words do have the incredible ability, when spoken sincerely, to heal broken hearts and to provide comfort and hope where there is nothing but fear and pain.

Four and a half years after my diagnosis, I am still hearing those wonderful words — “I love you.” Old “I love yous” echo through my mind. New “I love yous” warm my heart. Each time I hear those precious words, I let out the tight breath I was holding in. The tension leaves my shoulders. A sense of peace and wellness fills my being.

Just three simple words.

I love you.

3 Responses to “I Love You”

  1. barbara April 4, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    I LOVE YOU!

  2. Janet Lea April 5, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    I love you, Jill! And your openness in sharing your life with others shows just how beautiful you are, not only on the outside but just how very beautiful you are on the inside as well.

  3. writergirldreams April 5, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    How bout four simple words? No wait, five.

    I love you bad Jill.

    from the woman Sister in me, and from the smallest most fragile child self in me,

    I love you bad Jill.

    Thank you for all the times you remind me how much He loves me, especially when I feel so lost and cannot find Him. I show up on your step in the middle of the night, and bring a candle. You take my hand and help me light a lantern, send me on my way again with a little reminder you placed in my hand called “faith” and so I go, seeking Him who waits for me in love as warm and bright as sunshine. No candles or lanterns needed.

    With all that you are Jill, and to so many of us, for me you are like a talking compass I keep in my pocket, and pull out again and again to hear you whisper “He’s watching over you with a tenderness we can’t even imagine, Debbie.”

    I love you bad Jill.

    wgd

Leave a Reply

