Live Now

25 Mar

Three girls lost their mother today. She died this morning. From breast cancer.

It all started with a suspicious mammogram. It looked like cancer. But because the girls’ mother was young, the doctors decided it was unlikely that she could actually have breast cancer. They were wrong.

The breast cancer eventually metastasized to her lungs, her bones, and finally to her brain. That’s what cancer does.

We don’t all survive this disease.

I read a quote today by folk singer and song writer Joan Baez. “You don’t get to choose how you’re going to die, or when. You can only decide how you’re going to live now.”

Today was the first day of spring break for my three children. We had a fun day together, full of goofy laughter and good times, as it should be. I am well aware that I can’t choose how or when I die, but as long as I’m still here, I’m going to live my life and love my children and enjoy each day the best I can.

That’s how I am living now.

3 Responses to “Live Now”

  1. Maria March 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Reading this just made seeing you today that much better. I love you Jill – you inspire me.

  2. Janet Lea March 28, 2011 at 5:01 am #

    Jill, You are one amazing young woman! God has truly touched you and is using you.

  3. writergirldreams March 31, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    Live now. Live now. Live now. Every time I get frustrated, scared, blue or stuck in the what ifs, I will close my eyes, click my heels and say this simple mantra. Thanks for the reminder Jill.

Leave a Reply

