The Roses

8 Mar

Yesterday evening, my husband Dan came home with a dozen beautiful red roses for me. I know. He’s wonderful, isn’t he?

These aren’t birthday roses or anniversary roses. They are celebratory roses. We are celebrating the release of my new book – Mammograms, Mastectomies, and a Spiritual Makeover.

The lovely scent of the roses reminds me of another time Dan came home with a dozen red roses for me. It was four and a half years ago — the day I was told that I had breast cancer.

I remember that first sleepless night after receiving the awful, incomprehensible news. At my request, Dan put a soft night-light in our bedroom, because I needed to be able to see the roses. All night long, I stared at the vase of roses setting on my dresser. Shocked and overwhelmed, not daring to think about my diagnosis, I filled my mind with the deep fragrance and beauty of those roses.

What a journey these last few years have been. How amazing that God loves us so much that He reaches down and takes something as devastating as breast cancer and brings something good out of it. I could not have imagined it four years ago. But this is what God does best, isn’t it? He gathers up all that is bad in our lives and offers us redemption.

He can make everything beautiful, in its time. Even cancer.

3 Responses to “The Roses”

  1. Alida Den OUden March 8, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    He has made everything beautiful in His time!!! That was our wedding verse!!! Wow to bring that verse back now, how awesome!!! I need to remember it again!!! Thanks Jill for sharing that~~~

  2. Janet Lea March 9, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    God truly loves you and is using you in a marvelous way to reach other women. By the way, I love you TOO. Janet

  3. writergirldreams March 11, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    Some nights Jill, you are my night light.

Leave a Reply

