Breaking the Rules

22 Feb

When it comes to cooking, I’m pitiful. Really, I am. Over the years, I’ve managed to master a few simple dishes, and somewhere along the way I learned how to cook a turkey, but other than that, the food that comes out of my kitchen tends to be pretty scary.

On the bright side, I do know how to bake. I especially like baking cakes. And everyone in my family likes eating my cakes because there’s never anything scary about them.

So a few days ago, we were all just sitting around and I suddenly decided I wanted to bake a cake. No one paid much attention as I mixed the ingredients together, but as soon as the smell of warm chocolate cake started drifting out of the kitchen and throughout the house, all of a sudden, everyone was interested. And confused.

You see, my kids know that if there’s a special occasion, I bake a cake. It’s like one of the most important rules in our house. Something noteworthy happens, such as a birthday for example, (even the dog’s birthday) and we all get cake. That’s how it works here.

But to eat a cake when there was no special reason for eating cake? My kids were not at all sure if that was allowable, or even possible. They tried to get me to come up with something. Perhaps the goldfish was celebrating a birthday?

Anticipation grew as they waited for the cake to cool on the counter. After awhile, they watched as I spread creamy chocolate frosting on each layer and stacked them up on the cake plate. When I finally took out the long knife and started slicing the cake, they got very quiet. I knew what they were thinking. Nobody wanted to risk getting in trouble mere seconds before the cake was served.

And so we all ate a layered chocolate cake that afternoon for no special reason at all.

That’s the mom I want my kids to remember — the mom who made a layered chocolate cake for no reason at all.

3 Responses to “Breaking the Rules”

  1. Clara Watts February 22, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    What a delicious story! Your kids will indeed remember you for happenings like this!

  2. Becky February 22, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Every time I read your newest post, my heart is warmed and deeply touched. You have the most beautiful way of saying things.

  3. writergirldreams February 27, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    It’s late, I came downstairs, I’m hungry, I opened the fridge, I stood in front of it, the light shines on me, nothing looks good. If I get very quiet, if I’m good Jill and don’t curse or anything for mere seconds, will you slice me some of that cake? That’s what I want but could not find in my house, cause it’s in yours. I want that cake. The one you made. Just because.

Leave a Reply

