Here Kitty, Kitty…

4 Feb

A few mornings ago, while it was still too dark to actually be considered anything other than night, I awoke to a non-stop ruckus of woofing. Something was going on in the far corner of the backyard, and our dog Ranger was doing his best to let the whole neighborhood know about it.

The rising sun revealed an unfamiliar black and white cat trembling in our aspen tree. Several hours later, I was surprised to see the cat still huddling on the same branch, just out of Ranger’s reach. This puzzled me. While there’s no doubt that Ranger has a frightful bark, it seemed to me that the cat could easily have escaped if it had wanted to.

Curious, I went outside to see if I could perhaps offer my assistance to this unfortunate feline. I talked softly to it, using a soothing voice. However, the terrified cat didn’t even notice me. It was so focused on the big scary dog. I reached for the cat (cautiously, because I didn’t want 20 claws in my face). But as soon as my fingertips touched its fur, the cat skittered up to the top of the tree.

I felt awful. Now the cat was in an even worse predicament — all because it didn’t recognize my voice. When the sun went down that evening, the poor cat was still way up there, clinging to a thin branch and swaying in the wind.

Although I’ve never been stuck in a tree, I certainly know what it’s like to feel trapped in an unpleasant situation. Don’t we all? How thankful I am that I know the Good Shepherd’s voice. He calls me by name. He reaches out His hand to me and helps me see beyond the barking dogs in my life. As I focus my attention on Him, I can let go of my fear, trusting that I will forever be safe in His arms.

“My sheep recognize my voice. I know them, and they follow me. I give them real and eternal life. They are protected from the Destroyer for good. No one can steal them from out of my hand.”

John 10:27-28   The Message

One Response to “Here Kitty, Kitty…”

  1. writergirldreams February 18, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I loved it when you said “non-stop ruckus.” Who says that anymore? Anyway, sometimes I feel like a lost lamb, separated from the flock, and baa baa-ing and wah wah-ing my little heart out. You always have a way Jill of reminding me He knows my cry, he counts every tear, I am precious to Him. He is on His way.

Leave a Reply

