Me & Moses

31 Jan

A few nights ago, I had a dream that just won’t leave me. It wasn’t a nightmare exactly, but I did feel a bit shaken up when I awoke. A moment or two passed before I was able to assure myself that I was, in fact, safely tucked in my bed.

This is the very first time I have ever dreamed in “Old Testament” so please humor me as I share this unusual dream with you.

In this dream, I found myself in the middle of a desert. I felt hot, exhausted, and more than a little cranky. This guy named Moses was hanging out with me, and a whole bunch of people wearing sandals were following us. They were even crankier than I was.

Let’s fast-forward through the long and drawn out part of the dream during which Moses and I, along with all the people, trudged through the sand, struggling to reach our destination.

At long-last we made it to the end of our wearisome journey. Moses gave me a high-five, and we were both feeling pretty good about our accomplishment — until God came along. He was not smiling.

He pulled out a giant map and put it right under our noses so that Moses and I could take a really good look at it. Why, God wanted to know, did we take the long route? I decided to let Moses field that question, seeing as how he’s Moses and all. But he just lifted his shoulders and shrugged.

God was still waiting for an answer. I figured I had better come up with something more noteworthy than a shrug. Referring to the map, I pointed out to God that although the short route was indeed shorter, it had some awfully high mountains to cross, and did He really want me to take a bunch of people over those mountains without hiking boots?

It’s altogether possible that I may have stammered a few times as I tried to explain this to God.

He still was not smiling. Then, in a voice that nearly blasted all the sand out of the desert, God said – I AM WITH YOU, EVEN WHEN YOU CROSS OVER THE HIGH MOUNTAINS.

I’m pretty sure that’s what woke me up.

It was nothing more than a crazy dream. Yet the message continues to haunt me. How easy it is to become confident in following my own path through life, avoiding life’s challenges, and choosing a safe and easy route where no faith is required. How quickly I forget that He who moves mountains is with me every step of the way.

How thankful I am that treacherous mountaintops and a lack of proper foot attire are of no consequence to Him.

4 Responses to “Me & Moses”

  1. Connie January 31, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I think you should avoid eating pizza at bedtime…

    If the Israelites, under Moses’ leadership, had taken the short route to the Promised Land, they would have missed 40 years of seeing God’s miracles of providing them water, sending manna from heaven daily and teaching them how to be His chosen people who would obey and worship Him.

    Even in your dream, God could have gone with you if you had taken the short route, but I’m betting He would go with you all the way through the long route, also.

  2. Jaclyn January 31, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    The Lord will speak to us any way He chooses.
    Thank you! This encourages me while I ride this rollercoater to adoption.

  3. Shannon February 2, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Hmmm. It makes you wonder, Jill. In our Christian walk, how many times do we take the long way around to avoid those huge mountains of fear that are staring us in the face? Both journeys have the propensity to leave us a tad bit on edge. Why not just choose the shorter route (with God’s leading) and get it over with? (Ha!) The message is a good one. I needed to hear that today. Thank you!

  4. writergirldreams February 18, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Hi Jill, I have read this one a few times, since you posted it. First thought was, wow, what did you eat for dinner? That was some dream! My goodness. I remember saying to my kids when they were little “we can do this the easy way, or the hard way…” You help me see that it is not the route that makes it easy or hard, it is trying to do either without Him. Thank you Jill, coming here is like being your neighbor and I keep borrowing a cup of sugar, it’s just that instead I come to you in cyberspace, and always leave with what I was missing. Hugs Sister. wgd

Leave a Reply

