Silent Night

10 Dec

Sometimes when the doorbell rings, there’s just no telling who might be standing on the other side. This happened at our house last evening.

The doorbell rang. We weren’t expecting anyone. But usually when our doorbell rings, the visitor is David, my younger son’s friend who lives down the street.

Hearing the doorbell, my son jumped up to answer it, no doubt pleased to have an excuse to ditch his algebra homework. What a surprise he got when he opened the door, and instead of seeing David,  he found at least 15 teenage girls. In fact, he was so surprised, that he quickly shut the door and turned off the porch light and hid behind the couch.

Not exactly a warm welcome, right? Yet, those girls did not give up easily. Shivering in the darkness and facing a closed door, they still did what they had come to do.

From the kitchen, I thought I could hear voices singing the first few lines of Silent Night. Sure didn’t sound like David. Drying my hands, I went to investigate. I turned on the porch light and opened the door wide.

The lovely music flowed into our home. My husband and children soon gathered around me, captivated by the Christmas carolers’ song.

After they left, I thought of the first Christmas. “No room in the inn” probably meant a few closed doors. Yet, in the darkness of that stable, God still accomplished what he had come to do.

And the gift of His great love still flows into our homes and fills our hearts and lives with joy.

One Response to “Silent Night”

  1. amy n December 10, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    I laughed at the thought of conner slamming the doors on the girls, I can totally see our 14year old son doing that… glad you opened the door!

Leave a Reply

