All I Need to Know

7 Dec

Everything I know about shopping, I learned from my mother. When it comes to shopping, she’s a pro. She studies ads, shops sales, finds the bargains and still makes shopping a fun experience for all who are involved. Yesterday we had a great day Christmas shopping together. We love the stores’ holiday decorations, their festive displays, and the Christmas music they play this time of year.

Shopping is not the true meaning of Christmas, of course, but it’s a fun part of celebrating the holidays. Baking, decorating, sending cards, giving gifts, building gingerbread houses, attending holiday musicals, singing carols – they’re all a part of the holiday fun that my family and I look forward to and enjoy each year.

Except for that first Christmas after I was diagnosed with breast cancer.

We were in desperate need of some tidings of comfort and joy that Christmas. Still recovering from my second surgery, I was scheduled to have a third one shortly after the New Year began. The thought of shopping, baking, decorating, and card-writing overwhelmed me. The last thing we needed in our home that Christmas was more stress. So instead of “making” Christmas happen, that year I decided to just let it happen.

In light of what we were going through, there was actually something pretty wonderful about celebrating Christmas without all the distractions. That year our focus was on the gifts of hope, love and peace — the hope for eternal life, the love of our Heavenly Father, and the incredible peace on earth that even cancer doesn’t dare touch.

Truth is, it was one of my most special Christmases ever. And, as it turned out, it was the very last Christmas I got to celebrate with my dad.

This year I’m looking forward to celebrating a fun-filled Christmas. I’ll do some decorating, some baking and some more shopping with my mom. And while I do these things, I will keep in mind that all I really need to know about Christmas is wrapped up in the gifts of hope, love and joy.

2 Responses to “All I Need to Know”

  1. Susan Wheeler December 7, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Jill, You’ve done it again…brought tears to my eyes and joy to my heart. Don’t stop writing and sharing!

  2. Becky December 8, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    As you know, I come here regularly to read. You continue to inspire me. Thank you for visiting my blog today.

Leave a Reply

