Happy Thanksgiving

22 Nov

This year I bought a really big turkey. The biggest one I could find. Those of you who have teenage sons understand the need for a gigantic turkey.

Last year I made the mistake of buying a normal sized turkey which left us with almost no leftovers. Imagine having to eat ham sandwiches on the day after Thanksgiving. Of course, that wasn’t as bad as what happened two years ago…

Two years ago, early on Thanksgiving morning, I stuffed the turkey full of my Aunt Hattie’s sausage and cornbread dressing, and put it in the oven. For hours, we were tantalized by the delicious aroma of the roasting bird. My excited kids could hardly stand it.

Busy in the kitchen, my mom and I mashed potatoes. We baked rolls. We buttered corn. We warmed pies. At last, the turkey was done and the feast was almost ready. I set the turkey on the countertop so that it could cool a bit before we started making the gravy. Then my mom and I, in need of a quick break, left the kitchen.

No sooner had I turned my back on the kitchen, when I heard a rather loud thud, along with a loud clatter, followed by an even louder “OH, NO!” Definitely not the sounds I like to hear coming from my kitchen on Thanksgiving Day. Rushing back, I found three concerned and somewhat guilty-looking kids. And a turkey on the floor.

Note to self: Never leave a Thanksgiving turkey alone in the kitchen without adequate supervision.

Like any other mother when faced with a turkey-on-the-floor situation, I considered my options. I quickly determined, that at 2:00 pm on Thanksgiving Day, there weren’t any. So I did what had to be done. I picked the turkey up off the floor, plopped it on a platter, and told my husband to start carving. While I mopped up the mess, my amazing mother somehow concocted gravy from a can, and soon we were all seated around the table enjoying our Thanksgiving feast as if nothing unusual whatsoever had just taken place on the kitchen floor.

So I guess it really was not such a big deal after all. And there’s no reason to suspect that this would ever happen to me again, right? But just in case, I think I’ll go give my kitchen floor a really good cleaning.

3 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving”

  1. Barbara November 22, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Love this one!

  2. Heidi Tracht November 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    I was afraid the culprit would be Ranger. Enjoy!!

  3. Susan Wheeler November 22, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    I was thinking Ranger too! I saw a 29 pounder at the store yesterday!! Since we fry ours you can only do about 14 lbs or it gets burned on the outside, so we are making our guests cook a turkey as well so there will be lots of leftovers!! Hope you have a great Thanksgiving Jill, thanks for giving to others with your writing!!

Leave a Reply

