The First Snowfall

19 Nov

My kids arrived home from school today with snowflakes in their hair. The first snowfall of the season. I love the changing of the seasons. I’ve got a fire in the fireplace, cupcakes baking in the oven, and a good book to read. Definitely one of the good days.

And I’m listening to Christmas music — which breaks my rule of never listening to Christmas music till after Thanksgiving. But hey, life is short, and sometimes it’s good to break a few rules.

There is much to look forward to in the next several weeks with the approaching holidays. And much for which to be thankful.

My oldest son gave me a hug this evening. He told me that at youth group on Wednesday night everyone was supposed to say what they were thankful for. He told everyone that he was thankful for his mom. I suppose most kids are thankful for their moms. After all, we are pretty wonderful! But it somehow carries a little bit more weight, I think, when that kid has had a really good glimpse of what life would be like without his mom.

Like I said, there’s much for which to be thankful. And much to look forward to in the coming days. Life is too short not to enjoy and appreciate every precious moment of it.

One Response to “The First Snowfall”

  1. writergirldreams November 20, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    I’m thankful that you write this blog, reminding me, despite everything, of all I have to be thankful for. You are a blessing in my life Jill. I wish the best of holidays to you and your hubby, the kids, and of course, Ranger. Let it Snow! Hugs, wgd

Leave a Reply

