A Good Place

15 Nov

Seems like I’ve been spending a lot of time in the Valley these last few years. So I got to thinking that it would sure be a nice change to spend some time hanging out in the green pastures instead. And maybe put my feet up beside the still waters for awhile. You know, take some time out for a little soul-restoring.

Problem is – I had no idea how to get there.

So I prayed. I asked God to help me find his green pastures and still waters. I told him I was looking for some rest and contentment, as well as a deep sense of well-being, security, and refreshment that could come only from him.

Then I faced the real world… A dead fish floating in the fishbowl. Gum in the dryer. A sick stomach.

A few hours later, I sat in a hair salon getting my hair trimmed. The salon was unusually quiet. It was empty except for me and the wonderful lady who has been cutting my hair for the last 15 years. Both of us have been diagnosed with breast cancer in the past few years. We both continue to cope with the lousy side effects of ongoing treatment. We both have plenty of things to complain about.

As she cut my hair, I looked in the mirror and watched our reflection. It was almost as if I were watching two unfamiliar women. Because the women I could see in the mirror didn’t look like they were hanging out in a valley. Instead, they were both smiling and laughing as they visited together.

To my surprise, I saw that the sense of well-being I had been longing for appeared to be right there in front of my eyes. Sitting there, I finally grasped the fact that I didn’t have to get to God’s green pastures. I was already there. I just needed to let go of life’s distractions long enough to recognize that the Good Shepherd has already led me to a good place.

A place where he reminds me that things aren’t so bad after all. A place where, despite the cancer, my cup does indeed overflow. A place where he assures me that his goodness and mercy will be following me – each and every day of my life.

3 Responses to “A Good Place”

  1. Barbara November 15, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Jill,
    I needed to read this posting today. Thank you for reminding us that God has indeed led us to our green pastures already. I sometimes just let those negative distractions get in the way.

    Beautiful posting today. I love the Christ that dwells in your heart.

    Barbara

  2. Janet Lea November 15, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Thanks for letting me share these moments with you. You are a very special lady and God is using you with your insights. I’m excited to read your book.

  3. Wagonwife Designs November 17, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    It is a powerful reminder. Thanks Jill.

Leave a Reply

