Chasing My Tail

5 Nov

Some days I’m convinced I do nothing other than running in circles, like a dog chasing its tail. Today, for example, I had a long to-do list and several deadlines to meet. And it was house-cleaning day. I tend to be a tiny bit OCD when it comes to a clean house, so that was first on my agenda. I figured if I worked hard and cleaned fast, I’d still have time to do the other things that needed doing.

When I clean house, I always listen to Lonestar. I call it my house-cleaning music. But today, halfway through cleaning, I decided to try something different. I put on an old Keith Green CD.

I should have stuck with Lonestar.

Our dog Ranger is 100% an outdoor dog. However, a week or so ago, we moved him and his dog crate into the dining room so that he could convalesce indoors (see post from October 25th).

Ranger likes Lonestar. Ranger does not like Keith Green. At least that’s the impression I got when he started barking and howling and rattling his crate. No way was I going to change the music for a dog, so eventually I kicked him outside. That’s when I noticed for the first time that I had a very dirty dog crate in my clean house.

Ranger watched through the window as I stuck my head and shoulders into his crate. The old bath towels he had been sleeping on were too filthy to be vacuumed. They needed to see the inside of a washing machine. But first, I figured I had better take them outside for a good shaking. Ranger couldn’t have been more pleased when I joined him outdoors. He thought it was a game. He jumped and nipped at the towels as I attempted to shake them. Then the crazy dog, still riled-up from the Keith Green incident, started nipping at me. Giving up on the towel-shaking, I stepped back into the house and slammed the door.

I had dog hair in my mouth. I had dog hair on my eye balls. In fact, I’m pretty sure there were more dog hairs on me than on Ranger. As I looked around, I could see dog hairs settling all over my clean dining room. So much for trying to clean the house quickly. Sighing, I decided I was way too tired to work so hard at accomplishing nothing.

Yesterday I read a newsletter from the Johns Hopkins Breast Center. One of their researchers stated, “Persistent fatigue is one of the most common lingering problems affecting breast cancer survivors.” I can sure relate to that, particularly on days like today.

Standing in my dog-hair-covered dining room, I was reminded of Jesus’ words in Matthew. They go something like this –Come to me, all you who are weary and covered with dog hair, stop chasing your tail and I will give you rest.

Isn’t that awesome? Jesus always knows just what we need. He remembers that we are merely made of dust – (of which I am so insistent upon cleaning!) I love how he understands our frailness and invites us to rest.

After the Keith Green CD ended, I let Ranger back inside. He curled up in his crate and settled down for a nap. Perhaps I will too.

3 Responses to “Chasing My Tail”

  1. Heidi Tracht November 5, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    REAL, I say!! I actually laughed out loud – for real!

  2. Wagonwife Designs November 6, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    It gave me a great laugh for today. Yes He is certainly there for the weary and the dog haired covered too.

  3. Janet Lea November 6, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Jill, Thanks for your sharing of your day. I’m sure God just smiles sometimes at our sense of priority. But if it’s important to us; it’s also a reminder that it’s important to God for He is interested in every moment of our day.

Leave a Reply

