Four More Days

28 Oct

October sure is a long month. I’m starting to feel like I’ve had enough of the pink already. So I decided that today I would take a break. Today, I decided, I would wear no pink. I would give no thought to awareness. And I absolutely would not mention the C-word, not even once.

All morning I worked on a story I’m writing for young children about a zebra chase. All morning I’ve been saying words like “ponies” and “clowns” and “bear cubs.” None of these words upsets me.

Then the phone rang. Giving in to the interruption, I sighed, got up, and answered it. I was immediately placed on hold. Who calls you and then puts you on hold? At first I was tempted to hang-up, but then I got curious. So I went to the dryer and folded laundry while I waited to hear who had the nerve to put me on hold till they got around to talking with me.

I didn’t have to wait long. Soon a booming female voice with a strong southern accent greeted me. She called me “ma’am.” I don’t like that. There should be a rule — no one less than 100 years of age should ever be referred to as “ma’am.” Especially after being put on hold.

She went on to inform me, quite dramatically, that she was calling on behalf of a breast cancer organization. They were hoping to raise money. And would I please consider sending money to help the “po’, po’” victims of breast cancer?

Seriously?

I had to laugh – and she scolded me by saying, “Breast cancer is no laughing matter, ma’am.”

Yeah, tell me something I don’t already know.

When I explained to her that I was a breast cancer survivor, she graciously apologized and wished me well. Still, the call left me feeling unsettled. I didn’t like being called a poor, poor victim. And I regretted that she had made me use the C-word.

Note to self: Get an answering machine.

Only four more days till November… I can hardly wait.

4 Responses to “Four More Days”

  1. jan October 28, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Jill, In deed you are not poor but quite rich. Your comments reveal such excellent health on your part…and brought me a healthy chuckle here at the end of our beautiful orange-red-and-brown October.You’re right on!

  2. Joules October 28, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    That’s funny. I’ve had similar things happen, too, with people commenting about Brandon. One lady said to me, kindly but firmly, “You are so lucky your husband hasn’t left you by now!” referring to Brandon. It made me laugh and I agreed with her but I was thinking she might do with a course on what not to say.

  3. Jaclyn October 28, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    Can I add a lame story…Maybe October should be the month of lame comments from women who talk to much. Although, I’m sure I’ve been one myself. The kids and I were checking out at Wal-mart. The kids had a toy and I had a few groceries. The kids handed me their bag of change to pay for their toy (my lame attempt at teaching responsibility) and as I started to get the change out the cashier sighed, rolled her eyes and said,”ok just give me your food stamps first.” Now, I don’t have a problem with needing food stamps but please spare me the attitude, my kids want to pay for their toy.
    Jill…you have an awesome attitude. I learn a lot from you.

  4. Wagonwife Designs October 29, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    Jill I think you handled it well. Such a sad state when you are called and then placed on hold. If only the caller had your attitude (and tact) they may collect enough to actually find a cure.
    Now it is only 3 more days!

Leave a Reply

