A Bothersome Bur

25 Oct

Despite our best intentions, some mornings simply do not go as smoothly as we would like.

Yesterday, I awoke to the sound of rain. Cozy in bed, I snuggled closer to my husband, Dan, and thought of my three good things for the day – (number one on the list was the half-gallon of chocolate & peanut butter ice-cream stashed in the freezer). Looking forward to attending church, I got out of bed and into the shower.

I expected Dan to hop into the shower right after me, but he didn’t. Thinking he must have fallen back asleep, I peeked into our bedroom. No Dan. Maybe he was making coffee or reading the paper. I threw on a robe and went to find out. I could hear our kids upstairs getting ready for church. But the living room, dining room and kitchen were dark and silent. I called Dan’s name. No answer.

As I walked through the dark dining room, I noticed our dog, Ranger. He was outside with his nose pressed up against the glass door. His head was bloody. And he was staring intently at something behind me. Turning around, I saw Dan. He was lying on the floor.

Like I said, some mornings just don’t turn out like we might have expected. Not for me, not for Dan, and certainly not for Ranger. Dan later explained how he had gone out to check on Ranger and found a bothersome bur stuck in the hair near Ranger’s ear. With a scissors, Dan carefully had cut away the hair entangled in the bur. While he did this, Ranger sat very still – for all of 3 seconds. Then he jerked his head, causing the scissors, sorry to say, to slice his ear. Dan rushed inside to get bandages. But feeling woozy from the incident, he felt it best to lie on the floor for awhile. Some mornings are like that.

We got Ranger’s ear washed and bandaged, gave him a few treats, and still got to church only twenty minutes late.

Mornings like this one probably make Ranger wish he had stayed in his doghouse till noon. But for us, mornings like this leave us feeling grateful that things had not turned out worse, and thankful for the times in which things flow a little more smoothly.

4 Responses to “A Bothersome Bur”

  1. Susan Wheeler October 25, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Good thing he is a CHEMIST!!!

  2. Amy Nichols October 25, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    I love your stories! Glad Danny and Ranger are ok!

  3. Wagonwife Designs October 26, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    Glad everything turned out okay. Hope the rest of the day went better!

  4. writergirldreams November 9, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    So Hubby clipped the dog then had to lay down? This scene of him laying on the floor and doggie looking in through the window is absolutely adorable and poignant. OMG. Does he cry during Oprah or Undercover Boss like my Husband does? Aw, that is so cute, and I’m sorry for both, Husband and Dog.

    I had to laugh a bit when during my treatment, Husband had to go get his shoulder x-rayed. You’d a thunk he had open heart surgery on his shoulder the way he described getting it x-rayed. After everything I’ve gone through, it was awfully hard to keep my mouth shut and not do a “my owie is bigger than your owier” kind of thing. Thanks for sharing this story Jill. Sometimes I have to remind myself that inside my Husband lives his little boy self, just like sometimes I need him to acknowledge my little girl self.

Leave a Reply

