Something Pink and Lovely

15 Oct

I have a new friend. We have never actually met. And I don’t even know her last name. But in the short time I have known her, I have been touched by her gracious kindness.

I became acquainted with my new friend Jan through her wonderfully creative website, Bobbypin’s Boardwalk — http://www.bobbypinsboardwalk.com. (It’s amazing what you can learn about people by reading their blogs!) If you enjoy home-decorating and clever, crafty ideas, I encourage you to visit Jan’s site and browse through her blog.

Yesterday, I received a gift in the mail from Jan. It’s a breast cancer awareness pin that she designed and makes herself. Curious about what prompted her to create these pretty pins, I asked Jan if she was a breast cancer survivor herself. She told me that she had never had cancer of any kind, but about a month ago, her mother had been diagnosed with breast cancer. Jan started making these pretty pins for her mother. Jan told me “I just wanted her to have something pink and lovely.”

Of all the things a daughter can do for a mother who has breast cancer, I wonder if Jan realizes that she did one of the most loving and thoughtful things she could possibly have done.

Breast cancer tends to strip women of everything pink and lovely. I remember the first few weeks after I was diagnosed. The doctors kept giving me bad news. They advised me that after my first surgery, I would likely need two aggressive rounds of chemo — 3 months each. And radiation. I figured there would be nothing pink and lovely left of me after going through all of that.

So in those first few weeks after my diagnosis, when I should have been doing something useful like stocking the freezer with frozen dinners, I instead went to one of my favorite stores and purchased something pink and lovely for myself. A robe. There was nothing fluffy or comfy or practical about it whatsoever. Long and silky, it was embellished with dainty lace and tiny pink pearls.

The funny thing is, I never wore it. Not even once. But that robe played a crucial part in my survival. Because I knew that no matter what cancer would do to me, I would still have something pink and lovely to hang onto.

That pretty robe still hangs in the back of my closet. Pink and lovely, it reminds me of God’s gracious kindness in my life — the same gracious kindness He still blesses me with through people like Jan.

4 Responses to “Something Pink and Lovely”

  1. Heidi October 15, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    Jill,

    You are amazing! It is a priviledge and a blessing to call you friend. Thanks for sharing your life!

  2. Jan October 15, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    I don’t think any post has touched me more deeply than this. I had chills while reading it, and then when I was finished I realized that tears were running down my cheeks. If I helped my mother feel just a portion of what that silky robe did for you, then I am indeed blessed beyond my comprehension. There would be no greater gift than to bring a cool drink to someone so parched. You, Jill, have a gift with words. Yes, I have a new friend too. God’s blessings to you, Jill. I am so happy that you shared this story with me.

  3. Wagonwife Designs October 15, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    I think it is a wonderful post as well. Jan is certainly a special lady.
    Debra

  4. Diane Rice October 26, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I was also the recipient of one of those precious pins. She is certainly a special lady and you wrote it beautifully.

    Diane

Leave a Reply

