A Whole Lot of Awareness

1 Oct

It’s tough to say anything good about mammograms. All that squashing and smashing of things that ought not to be squashed or smashed… It’s no wonder women often have a bad attitude when it comes to getting their annual mammogram.

But since today is the first day of National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, I’m going to say something good about mammograms. They save lives.

I was oblivious to the whole breast cancer awareness thing till a few years ago when the time came for my very first routine mammogram. The result? Cancer. All of a sudden, I was intensely aware of breast cancer. It was a lot like getting hit by a train.

Did you know that the experts are now saying that worldwide a woman dies from breast cancer every 69 seconds? That’s almost one death per minute. From breast cancer.

The experts estimate that in the next year breast cancer will become the leading cause of cancer deaths in women.

Mammograms aren’t scary. Undetected breast cancer is.

The pink comes on pretty strong in the media during October. But I think that’s okay. Because awareness is a good thing. It saves lives. It saved mine.

4 Responses to “A Whole Lot of Awareness”

  1. bet365 October 3, 2010 at 12:54 am #

    hi!This was a really outstanding website!
    I come from england, I was fortunate to come cross your website in wordpress
    Also I learn a lot in your theme really thanks very much i will come later

  2. Wagonwife Designs October 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    All I can say is ditto. You said it all!

  3. Diane Rice October 6, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Hi – thanks for stopping by my blog. Hooray for pink. I’m sorry we are in the same club – but we have voices for those that come behind us.

    Diane from survivordiane.blogspot.com

  4. Jan October 8, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    This year a mammogram saved my mother’s life. I am so grateful for people like you who continue to get the word out. So we get a bit squished…we SURVIVE!

Leave a Reply

