The Land of U-Turns

29 Sep

We hadn’t been in Oregon for more than ten minutes when my daughter pointed out that we had already made three u-turns.

Welcome to Oregon. The land of the lost.

To be honest, we didn’t have much of a map. But really, do you need a map to drive from one side of a state to the other? We were already on the highway headed in the right direction. So how difficult could it be to simply follow the big green signs?

My husband and I should have known better. We had lived in Oregon for one u-turn-filled year early in our marriage. We knew that Oregonians have a unique way of positioning their road signs immediately after each turn-off. So when a sign says “Next Exit,” we should have known that it was referring to the exit we had just whizzed past at sixty miles an hour. Apparently we forgot. Because during our short weekend in Oregon, my daughter tallied up all of eleven u-turns. Now that I think about it, it’s kind of a wonder we ever made it back home to Idaho.

Isn’t this true in life sometimes? It sure is in mine. I’m trying to get to where God is leading me, but life is fast-paced and busy. There are many distractions along the way. And sooner or later, I miss a sign. Then I have to stop and consult the map – God’s Word. And sometimes it takes a u-turn to get my life back on track.

One Response to “The Land of U-Turns”

  1. writergirldreams October 5, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Jill, I have read and re-read that last paragraph again and again. Honey, you knocked that one out of the park. She holds the bat in her hands, then CRACK over the fence! I love reading your posts, hearing about your family and the day to day of your sacred life, and what’s on your mind. As if that is not enough, then you wrap it all up with a take away and I feel as if I’ve been handed a present. Here. Take this. It’s for you.

    Thank you. Thank you Jill.

    wgd

Leave a Reply

