Every Dog Has His Day

9 Sep

My family and I are celebrating today. Picture a triple-layer Gaines Burger cake covered in liver-flavored dog biscuits and topped with two candles. It’s almost enough to get your tail-wagging, isn’t it?

Shortly after our dog Ranger joined the family, he got into trouble with a couple of bees. They stung him several times on his snout and in his mouth. Immediately his face puffed up. Gigantic. Eyes swelled completely shut and foaming at the mouth. 

All three kids were sick with some lousy summer bug, but they were afraid that Ranger’s throat was going to swell shut and he would drop dead at our feet, so everyone jumped into the mini-van and we rushed to the vet’s office. Quite a drive. Three sick kids and a drooling dog. Every mile or so, Ranger would shake his head and foamy drool would fly all over the inside of the van. I really liked that part.

The good news is that we made it to the vet in time. The bad news is that as soon as we got there, the vet started poking Ranger with needles (antihistamine shots and steroids, I think). So all in all, it was a pretty lousy day for Ranger. Unlike today. Because today we are celebrating.

Birthdays are an opportunity to celebrate life. Not just life in general, but the life of a specific, special person — or dog. Birthdays give us a chance to tell those we care about that we are so glad they’re alive. We celebrate the day they were born, because that’s how important they are to us. And we can tell them that our lives are so much better just because they’re a part of it. That’s what birthdays are for.

Time to blow out the candles.

Happy Birthday, Ranger.

4 Responses to “Every Dog Has His Day”

  1. Heidi Tracht September 9, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Ranger! Now go take a dip in the pond and run around like crazy, so we can laugh at you!!

  2. David Markus September 9, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Well little sister, let Ranger (aka:hooch) know to save me some cake as my birthday is coming up. Your cat at home was never that entertaining.

    I would have never dreamed my favorite sister would have a “blog” some day as I waited every morning for 2 hours for a chance to get in the bathroom. 🙂

    Your stories are great and can’t wait to read the book. Make sure you don’t forget to relax and rest as needed. your’ BIG BRO. oxoxo

  3. Susan Wheeler September 9, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    I have enjoyed reading your blog Jill…you are a great writer!! We are getting close to being ready for another dog, just not looking forward to some of the “puppy stuff” but then again, some of the puppy times are the best!

    Happy Birthday Ranger!!!

    P.S. Tell Dan that Mark would love to go hunting sometime!

  4. writergirldreams September 11, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    Hi Jill, just read through your whole blog tonight. Very very good girl. You are reminding me to hold tighter to my faith and my family and my friends and my rituals and the things I love to do and make me happy.

    As you have read in my blog, I am still in the thick of it. Thank you for taking me out of my head and reminding me to get back into my life. Yes, even the bad bad days have little morsels of joy and miracles. Even the bad bad days, and there are angels all around me.

    You are one. Thank you Jill.

    Keep writing so I can keep reading.

    many hugs tonight,

    writergirldreams

Leave a Reply

