Old Friends, New Friends, and Puppies

5 Sep

I don’t invite friends over as often as I used to. Probably because entertaining usually revolves around food – you know, appetizers, a dinner, dessert. I used to enjoy these things, but tamoxifen (AKA the devil drug) has taken away my appetite and left me with a pretty constant case of queasiness. Remember the last time you had the stomach flu? Not exactly inspiration for planning and preparing a meal for guests.

Friday evening was an exception. The day was beautiful, perfect for a backyard barbecue. My husband Dan and I invited some new friends and some old friends. We even invited two puppies. Lots of food. Lots of kids. Lots of dogs. Lots of fun.

A short time ago, I read an article in The New York Times called “A New Risk Factor: Your Social Life.” The article boldly stated that social relationships are just as important to our health as other common risk factors such as smoking, lack of exercise, or obesity. It went on to say that a meager, pitiful social life is just as bad for you as being an alcoholic or smoking nearly a pack of cigarettes a day. And it’s worse than not exercising. I’m thinking that if ever we needed an excuse for getting together with friends, this is it!!!

So my new goal is to spend more time socializing with friends. It’s the healthy thing to do, right? I figure it’s all a part of focusing less on surviving and more on living.

Old friends, new friends. And puppies. Definitely the good things in life.

2 Responses to “Old Friends, New Friends, and Puppies”

  1. Clara Watts September 5, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    You nailed me with this one. A good hostess I am not. However, I do like friends so… Puppies I can do without 🙂

  2. Heidi Tracht September 5, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more!

Leave a Reply

