Cupcake

31 Aug

Awhile back, I took my daughter Kaitlyn horseback-riding in the mountains. Nothing impressive, just one of those guided trail rides through the forest where the horses plod along nose-to-tail and don’t even think about galloping. Kaitlyn got to ride on a fine-looking horse named Roja. I got to ride on a mule named Cupcake.

Our trail guide, obviously a seasoned cowboy, must have been all of 14. He informed me that guiding these trail rides was just a summer job. His real job was bull-riding. And apparently he was pretty good at it because he had won a few blue ribbons and only got trampled by a bull three or four times.

As he got me situated up on Cupcake, he said, “I gotta warn you. Cupcake likes to eat.” Don’t we all, I thought. “So I’ll need to keep a tight hold on the reins?” I asked. He shook his head. “Won’t matter,” he told me. “She’s a mule. She’s going to eat.”

And she did. Clumps of grass, bush leaves, and even small tree branches. Cupcake strolled along that trail as if it were an all-you-can-eat buffet.

I didn’t mind at all.

When I was a child, my dad had taken me horseback-riding on trail rides like this one. Fond memories. I wanted to share that experience with my own kids. But cancer had done its damage, leaving me with little upper body strength and plenty of pain and discomfort if I over-did it. So horseback-riding had been removed from my things-to-do-list. Until now. Because there I was, for the first time since I had been diagnosed with cancer, riding on Cupcake and loving it.

Mules aren’t the only ones who can be stubborn. I too was being stubborn in my determination that the joy of horseback-riding would be worth the price of pain that I would have to pay.

And it was.

3 Responses to “Cupcake”

  1. Jaclyn August 31, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    Praise the Lord! Thank you for sharing. I love reading your posts.

    Love,
    Jaclyn

  2. Heidi Tracht September 1, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Love it!!

  3. Wagonwife Designs September 2, 2010 at 5:33 am #

    Thanks for sharing. You have inspired me to get back on and try again. I have not been trail riding in many years. What fun.
    Debra

Leave a Reply

