Life is Good

24 Aug

So quickly summer ends… Swimsuits and shorts are replaced by school supplies and sack lunches. And the summer’s fun adventures are reduced to pictures in a scrapbook.

Although my family and I did many fun things this summer, my best memory is of an afternoon where we did nothing at all. Camping in the Idaho mountains, our days were full of swimming, fishing, wake-boarding, and hiking. However, on this one particular afternoon, we chose to do none of those things. Instead we simply sat together overlooking the lake and doing nothing more than enjoying each other’s company.

I remember closing my eyes that afternoon, the pine-scented breeze warm on my face, the scars and reality of cancer fading away–not completely, but enough. I remember thinking how good it was to be alive.

Even now, I can still almost feel the warmth of that summer breeze and see the sparkle of the water and hear the laughter of my children from that special afternoon–a reminder from our Heavenly Father that life indeed is good.

3 Responses to “Life is Good”

  1. Barbara Nogales August 25, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    You are an inspiration Jill. An absolutely beautiful person inside and out. As a healthcare provider, I most admire my cancer patients. They are the kindest, most patient, and above all the most grateful individuals I work with.

    One of my favorite passages, which a friend of mind reminded me of the other day, is Lamentations 3:22-24…

    22 Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed
    Because His compassions fail not.
    23 They are new every morning;
    Great is Your faithfulness.
    24 “ The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
    “ Therefore I hope in Him!”
    And we have to make this decision every day. Huh.
    “something that fills me with hope: The LORD’s kindness never fails!” If He had not been merciful, we would have been destroyed. The LORD can always be trusted to show mercy each morning. Deep in my heart I say, “The LORD is all I need; I can depend on Him!”
    God Bless you, Danny, and the children always.

    • jillnogales August 25, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

      Thank you, Barbara. Your kind words and encouragement are much appreciated. That Bible passage is one of my favorites too. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Connie Freeman August 26, 2010 at 4:08 am #

    I am eager to read your book, Jill, with its testimony of hope. You are a precious daughter of God whom I count as friend. I’m really glad you didn’t move to Australia, as Alexander threatened to do!
    Connie

Leave a Reply

