A New Day

20 Aug

When I was a kid, one of my favorite books was Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst. Remember that one? I’m not sure why it was a favorite. Maybe it made me feel better to know I wasn’t the only one who had ever woken up with gum in my hair. Or whose mother had forgotten to put dessert in my lunch box. Or whose Mickey Mouse night light had burned out.

We’ve all experienced a few terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days, haven’t we? Awhile back, I not only had a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day, I had a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad year. Two years, actually. First, without any warning whatsoever, I got diagnosed with breast cancer. I spent the next year undergoing 4 major surgeries and trying to survive. Then I got hit by a truck. Really. And just as I was starting to get back on my feet, I watched my wonderful father die. From cancer. Even Alexander would have to agree that I was having a very bad two years.

But amazingly, it wasn’t all bad. Because the Creator of everything that is good in this world was right there with me, holding onto my hand. And if there is one thing I knew for sure during those two awful years, it was that He would never let go of me. He continuously covered me with His abundant, powerful love. When things got worse, He would simply pour out more and more of His love till I was saturated in His goodness.

It took me awhile at first, but I learned that Alexander was right—no matter how terrible things may seem today, tomorrow always brings a new day. And things do eventually get better. Even when you have cancer.

8 Responses to “A New Day”

  1. Monika Neale August 20, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Wow, what an amazing entry! I am so glad you have the peace that overcomes all….even when you have such terrible things going on in your life. I’ve been there and back with trials and it’s always a comfort knowing our Father is with us through it all!
    Can’t wait to see what comes next in the blog.
    Monika

  2. Amy Nichols August 20, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Love your post! You are so beautiful, insightful and REAL! Thank you for sharing… the bad days… we all have and try to pretend we don’t.

  3. Carleen August 21, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Bless you for blessing us with your example and willingness to share. Big hugs to you Jill!

  4. Phyllis Perkins August 21, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    Great writing style!

  5. Heidi Tracht August 23, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    Jill, I pray that the Lord will bless your vulnerability in sharing!! Great post!

  6. edythe stahnke August 23, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    Our Dear Jill – we all know you are a very special young lady – thank you for sharing all of this with so many of us. May you have good health now and forevermore!
    Love always, Edee

  7. Donna Myers August 23, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    I love your website and your blog! You are a great writer, and you have a sincere heart. A great combination! I can’t wait to see your next blog…

  8. karencarterhiner August 24, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Jill,

    Your entry is a wonderful introduction to the topic of your book (which I can’t wait to see in print).

    So glad our lives have intersected through our mutual interest in writing.

    Blessings,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

